If You Try This, Don’t Become a Chef

My fiance Kirk and I watch a lot of cooking shows. We didn’t always. We’ve been on a cooking-show kick ever since we got hooked on Kitchen Nightmares and Chef Ramsay’s constant yelling.  That doesn’t make me jump at the thought of becoming a chef, but the drama is fun.

Ever since then, I’ve experimented with some new recipes and combinations. To my (and everyone else’s) delight, it’s actually been good.

Kirk also has the experiment bug. However, his haven’t turned out exactly like the chefs we’ve seen on Chopped when they’re given a basket of random ingredients. Two major examples stand out to me.

One night, Kirk and I decided we wanted omlettes for supper. Breakfast for supper works, right? He wanted to be a sweetheart and make both of ours. I told him what I wanted and waited patiently in the living room. Not too much later, he brought my broccoli and cheese omlette. It was good!

I waited for him, all the while smelling a strange aroma coming from the kitchen. I couldn’t figure out what it was until he came in the living room and proudly announced he made a banana omlette. Not even joking. Out of morbid curiosity, I tried a bite. It was nasty. Half egg and half cooked, mushy banana. He ate the whole thing, but later said he thought it was gross. I’m not sure why he thought it would be a good combo.

I gave him the benefit of the doubt on that one. It was an experiment gone wrong. But last night, there was another banana incident.

In the South, we love banana and mayonaise sandwiches. They’re so wonderful on a summer day. Kirk isn’t from the South, so it took him a while to warm up to the idea, but now he loves them.

Last night he was going to make one. I walked into the kitchen as he was spreading mayo on his bread and saw, to my horror, mustard sitting out, waiting for him to use next. You just don’t do that. Yuck. He protested as I put it away, so I put a little mayo and mustard on the end of the banana and made him try it (by that time he was skeptical about it). Again, he agreed with me that it was nasty.

Where he comes up with these ideas is beyond me. I think I need to get him off the cooking shows. They’re a bad influence. Especially if he’s going to be cooking for me in the future when we’re married.

Either that, or I need to get used to strange banana dishes.

One thought on “If You Try This, Don’t Become a Chef

  1. Here’s a banana option: Take whole unpeeled (slightly green) bananas and slit the skin and cut the banana in half. Drizzle the inside with honey or maple syrup and sprinkle with Miners Mix Wholly Chipotle Rub. Put ’em on the grill until everything kind of steams, and the rub melts in. Pull ’em off, cool a bit and eat ’em right out of the skins!! You can find the rub at http://www.minersmix.com/store

    Like

Leave a Reply

