Chi-chi the Elephant

image

Yes, I totally take selfies with zoo animals. On a random note, I actually can’t stand the word “selfie”.

Kirk and I relived our childhoods Friday with a trip to the zoo. It was so much fun. I’m not sure who was more excited about the animals, me or the bazillion kids that were there. No, I didn’t ride the merry-go-round. Spinning makes me so sick.

I bounced my way through the ticket gate and all along zoo, oohing and ahing over just about everything. Also taking several pictures, including more selfies with animals. There’s that word again.

Kirk and I held hands the whole time. Not sure now if he was being sweet or if he was keeping me from running off like a kid and getting lost. Except I had the map.

Anyway, this elephant totally reminded me of Bandit. He was such a ham posing for pictures. Except for when he turned around and I got a nice shot of his butt. Not going to post that. Then he went and picked up a stick and carried it away, just like my boy when playing fetch.

At one point, Kirk asked what I thought its name was. Right before I answered, some kid shouted, “Chi-chi!” So the elephant is named Chi-chi. Doesn’t sound very tough, but hey, I’ll go with it.

Lunch time came and Kirk and I went outside the zoo to have a picnic. There were no picnic tables in the immediate area, so we spread a blanket on the ground and laughed and talked the whole time.

With worn out legs (I was significantly less bouncy, but Kirk still held my hand), we went back inside and checked out the other half of the zoo. When we were done, we got on the tram (no bounce. I repeat, no bounce) and were shuttled off to the parking lot. On the way, we passed the elephant exhibit and I saw Chi-chi still hamming it up for the cameras. Ah, the life of an elephant.

P.S. My t-shirt is not an endorsement for the team. It’s just really comfortable!

Leave a Reply

